The Plane Dukes Rahman Trio

The Plane Dukes Rahman Trio consists of Robert Plane (clarinet), Philip Dukes (viola), and Sophia Rahman (piano). It was formed in 1992, a logical convergence of two highly successful and critically acclaimed duos, of which pianist Sophia Rahman was the unifying factor. They have since become an enormously popular ensemble, appearing in recital at the Wigmore Hall, on London’s South Bank and for music clubs and festivals across the United Kingdom.

The Trio was a prizewinner in the 1993 John Tunnell Trust and its members are all major prizewinners of the Royal Overseas League Music Competition.

They have given many broadcasts for BBC Radio 3, including the first UK broadcast performance of the Francaix Trio live from Belfast, and of John Woolrich’s ‘A Farewell’ from St.George’s, Bristol. They gave the world première of two works by Paul Newland commissioned especially for them by the Spitalfields Festival and were invited to perform at the 1998 International Viola Congress in Glasgow and at the 2000 Lionel Tertis Viola Competition on the Isle of Man. They have given recitals in France, Argentina, Uruguay, the United Arab Emirates, Republic of ireland and the Channel islands.

Recordings include a critically acclaimed disc of chamber music by Schumann and Kurtág for ASV in association with the Royal Overseas League. To commemorate their tenth anniversary they released a second disc on ASV of music by Max Bruch. A disc of Rebecca Clarke’s complete viola works which features all the members of the Trio was released by Naxos in 2007.


The Trio can be booked through their agent at:

Neil Chaffey Promotions
 00 44 (0)1462 451863
Fax: 00 44 (0)1462 451864